Level 5 Diploma in Computing


Equivalent to Year 2 of a 3 year UK honours degree

Level 5 Diploma in Computing (QCF)



The Level 5 Diploma in Computing (QCF) is the second year of the NCC Education Information Technology degree journey. The programme builds on the knowledge gained during the NCC Education Level 4 Diploma in Computing by exposing you to greater detail and more advanced topics in a range of areas including database development, information systems analysis and network security and cryptography.

During the teaching of the programme, you will study a balance of academic and vocational subjects in order to provide you with the necessary knowledge and skills to play a significant role in IT organisations.

On successful completion of the programme, you will be able to complete the final year of a degree at one of the many universities that recognise NCC Education qualifications, or pursue a career in the IT industry.


On entry you must have at least ONE of the following:

• NCC Education Level 4 Diploma in Computing qualification.
• A local or international qualification which is deemed to be of a similar level to the NCC Education Level 4 Diploma in Computing programme. This must be agreed in advance with NCC Education.
On successful completion of the NCC Education Level 5 Diploma in Business Information Technology, you will have
acquired a critical understanding of the established principles of computing, and developed new skills relevant to the IT and business industry. You will have
also gained a breadth of knowledge in IT and business, which will allow you to successfully implement your skills in further study or in a professional role within the IT and business sector.

You must study the following eight core units:

• Professional Issues in IT – highlights the knowledge and skills used in the professional issues that impact on the development, deployment, maintenance and use of computer systems. This module will equip you with the knowledge surrounding social, ethical and legal issues applicable to the IT field and also a working
understanding of software quality.

• Network Security and Cryptography – provides you with the underlying theory and practical skills required to secure networks and to send data safely and securely over network communications.

• Information Systems Analysis – equips you with a range of tools in order to analyse the function and requirements of Information Systems, as well as the skills to compare systems analysis models, and to examine them in the wider context of the Internet and the social, economic and political climate of an organisation.

• Dynamic Websites – builds on existing knowledge of both databases and web design in order to build dynamic websites and also equips you with a range of skills to present content on the World Wide Web.

• Analysis, Design and Implementation – provides you with in-depth knowledge, skills and experience in the use of object-orientated techniques for the development of software. The unit also develops your expertise in object-oriented analysis, design and coding, and the testing of systems.

 Database Development and Design – allows you to develop your skills in the design and development of databases and database management systems, as well as
investigating enterprise applications of databases.

• Agile Development – explores the processes, people, practices and principles of agile development systems. The unit fully prepares you for the future trends in software development and reinforces your understanding of the information systems development process.

 Computing Project – gives you the opportunity to utilise the skills needed to develop a computing artefact to solve a problem, which involves research,
analysis, design, coding, testing and project management knowledge and expertise.
Assessments for all units are offered in a number of assessment cycles throughout the year. All units, except the project, are assessed by both examination and coursework assignments.
The NCC Education Level 5 Diploma in Computing will be awarded when you have successfully passed all eight units. A unit is passed when an overall mark of 40% or more is achieved. You can resit units if you need to but this must be done within three years of your first assessment in the programme.
The programme is designed to be delivered over one academic year for full-time study, but it is also flexible in its delivery in order to accommodate part-time learning.
The programme is taught face-to-face, through lectures, tutorials and seminars, by NCC Education’s Accredited Partner
NCC Education is accredited to award the Level 5 Diploma in Computing (QCF) by Ofqual (Office of the Qualifications and Examinations Regulator) in England. Ofqual Qualification reference number 600/3055/0.

Contact us

SNIT Business School,

Old Moka Road,

Bell Village,


P: (+230) 211 10 92

P: (+230) 213 01 95

Email: Info@snitedu.com